Boggis, Bunce and Bean

It was the Middle Distance Race at the JK Orienteering Festival at Ambersham Common today and, as I wasn't running till after lunch, I helped Tony put up the display in the JROS tent and then stationed myself at the run in to the finish to take lots more photos.

The farmer whose land we were using for the event was very obliging and he positioned his three tractors here, representing three generations of his family, at the penultimate control.  They made a great backdrop for the incoming runners.  I had a chat with him when he came down off the hill and he told me that his grandchildren had nicknamed the middle one Henry.

For some reason the tractors made me think of Fantastic Mr Fox??

I enjoyed today's race with lots of controls and lots of switching direction in a forest which was relatively easy to run through.  I finished 25th out of 48 so halfway down again, a bit nearer to Marcia and in front of Sue for a change.

We are now comfortably ensconced in the very pretty Hayloft, up a narrow country lane with smashing views from all windows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.