Beautiful Butterflies And Bugs

I photographed my first holly blue and green-veined white butterflies of the season and lots of solitary bees, including the Nomada pictured. I also captured my favourite, the acorn weevil. I haven't seen one these for a couple of years so was delighted to find a few in the heads of stinging nettles beneath one of our oak trees. At this time of year little brown husks land in the ground cover from tree buds and spent flowers. These weevils look just like those at first glance. The clever weevils also throw themselves on their backs and play dead when one approaches so they're quite difficult to spot.

I've been thinking of my MiL and her wonderful traditional 'love on a plate' Easter meals. Today would have been her one hundred and fifteenth birthday. 

Today's poem is From Father To Son by Emyr Humphreys. https://updatesfromthefield.wordpress.com/2011/06/27/poem-of-the-week-20/

I was touched when I read this. My father didn't have a son, which was a shame for him. He had five daughters. He was worn like a tramp. He loved us.      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.