The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Under sail

I went over to Woolwich today, via bus and Docklands light railway (DLR), to the festival of the Tall Ships. Today was the last day. They left this evening, to tour the world, or parts of it.

The crowds were immense, and I realised that there was little point in queueing to get on board. I'd have been there all day! In many ways the Tall Ships that visit Gloucester Docks from time to time, and allow people on board, offer a more intimate experience. (There aren't twenty of them at once though, as they have to travel.up the Gloucester to Sharpness canal!)

I couldn't get decent pics because I couldn't even see my screen in the bright sunlight! I need a viewfinder. Too much hit-and-miss lately. So i watched the ships for a while, then sunbathed for long enough to get my face burned. I heard some shanties being sung, so went and watched the singers until I saw signs pointing to the Thames path and the Flood Barrier. Decided to give it a go, walking alongside the river and the Woolwich ferry, and as i did so a procession of Tall Ships cruised past, heading down towards Deptford Creek. Each sailed right through the gates of the barrier. I got this shot, which I've cropped to make it closer-up. Even though my screen was black, i could still see how vivid the whites were in this sudden sunburst.

The path took a diversion through a housing estate and along a busy road. This was beginning to feel like the longest 1.25 mile walk I'd ever done! However, just as weakness was setting in, more signs appeared, promising a visitor centre and a cafe with a view. Mannah from heaven!

I had my cup of tea and skipped the visitor centre part, having chosen a £1 DVD about the barrier instead. Chatted to some other visitors, and we all agreed we'd like to go back for the public opening on 1Oth September.

Then i schlepped back via the bus, DLR, another bus and a  walk around Stratford, close to where I once lived, in my Plaistow days. It's  more fancy these days, thanks to the 2012 Olympics, and you no longer have to access the tube via a grimy shopping centre. Transport links are vastly improved, with new lines and connections; even a  station called Stratford International, because it connects with City Airport (maybe Stansted, too).

Back 'home' in Wanstead with the cats now. Watched the new Dr Who.  I'm going to add an extra of T, the younger ginger boy. He is super shy during the day, but likes cuddles of an evening!
G, the tom I blipoed two days ago, slept on my bed last night. He' s my new best friend, but as it's a single bed, he takes up a quarter of it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.