Portland Day 5: Sun & Beer & Stress

We've had lovely spring weather today, with sunshine and a gentle breeze. After a delicious brunch at Ankeny Tap & Table, off we went in the rental car to Wolves and People, a fairly new "farmhouse" brewery near Newberg. It offers a handful of complex, interesting beers, and our enjoyment of them was enhanced by the sunshine.

I hadn't noticed that my iPhone was sitting on the picnic table in full sunshine, but when I picked it up to check on my email, it didn't respond. The dreaded black screen was all I saw, despite varying which digit depressed the on/off button. Phil suggested putting it in the shade, which I did, but it was still unresponsive when we returned to our rental abode in late afternoon.

I'm eligible for an upgrade this month, and Portland has an Apple store, so we considered hopping on a bus and going there, but after a full day out and needing to shop for groceries, that wasn't an appealing prospect. Just in case there was still a flicker of life in the apparently moribund phone, Phil connected it to the charger. He checked the patient several hours later, and said that it was half alive again!

We'll see what morning brings... resurrection?

(My Portland weeklong transit pass is on the phone, as is my boarding pass for our return flight, among other things. I'm grateful not to be traveling on my own! Today's blip is artwork on the front exterior wall of the small Whole Foods that is our "local" grocery store here in Portland. I was thinking about posting a photo of my ailing iPhone, but opted for this more cheery scene.)

Blip 1782

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.