Today's Special

By Connections

Portland Day 6: Renewal & Rest & Creativity

I awoke to the gladsome sight of my iPhone being fully charged and functioning normally, despite the near death experience it had yesterday. Hallelujah!

We returned our rental car this morning and had breakfast at Crema, just a few blocks from where we're staying. That was followed by an indulgent perusal of The New York Times, The Washington Post, and the US and UK versions of The Guardian, all online. While Phil napped, I went through my Brahms Requiem score closely, noting sections where the altos were prominent, and those where I would "lip synch," where the alto part sits higher than is comfortable for me (I'm a second alto).

We walked to Bazi Bierbrasserie, about a mile away, for supper. Our pace was leisurely and we stopped often to take photos and/ or comment on things we saw. This intriguingly decorated van was my favorite, although the extra photo was a close runner-up!

We returned to our Airbnb by a slightly different route, and came across a small Cuban cafe that we look forward to trying next year. It's such a pleasure to walk in these neighborhoods, in which creativity is frequently present, and diversity of home and garden styles is the rule, rather than the exception.

Tomorrow is our last full day here; it will be a mix of walking, meals out, and packing for a fairly early start on Tuesday. We've enjoyed our stay in Portland very much, but Bellingham Beer Week (April 21-29) is fast approaching!

Blip 1783

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.