MISTAKEN IDENTITY

After another sleepless night
     I didn't look my best 
          on that dark Sunday morning.
I was so upset - 
     my eyes were red and
          tears were running
down my cheeks -
     when someone 
          in the garden
               asked me
                    why I was crying!
I'd already explained to
     two angels that my friend
          had disappeared.
Was it possible that
     someone else didn't know
          that one of my dearest friends
          had endured
an agonising and painful death
          had been put in a tomb
               and had then disappeared?
Surely not!
Thinking the shadowy figure
     was the gardener
          I asked where he had
               put the body so that
I could go and care for it.......
"Mary" he said quietly.
WOW!
     I would know that
          voice anywhere!
IT WAS JESUS
     my friend.
He was insistent that
     I didn't touch him so
          I hoisted up my skirt
and ran.....
     all the way back
          to the others.
Breathless......
     I managed to blurt 
          out the words
               I HAVE SEEN THE LORD!

HE IS RISEN!

© Maureen Iles - Easter Sunday 16/4/17

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.