Arachne

By Arachne

Heights

Yesterday in my scrambles on the hillside opposite the old city I was looking for the University Departments of Geology and Alpine Geography, built in the 1960s and abandoned in 2007. (Obviously if you're going to put any university department on an inaccessible steep slope it's going to be those two.) The buildings are now covered in graffiti, easily visible among the trees from the city, and due to be demolished soon. Today, after several more false climbs and many more steps I finally got there - third extra. (Interestingly the blipmap shows me where I went wrong yesterday, which googlemaps does not.)

I've visited Grenoble several times and I know it's on a plain surrounded by mountains but I still find it exhilarating as I walk through city streets to look up and see them (first extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.