Rewind

Soon after finishing my A levels I went to au pair in Paris, determined to learn French. (I got my A-level results by telegram - it was that long ago.) I went to college every day, studied hard and was immersed in the language. It worked.

Since then I've often visited France - I reckon it takes about a week a year to keep my French at the same level. About a year ago I was gutted when a good French friend told me my speaking had deteriorated. So I am here with a real mission this time. I'm lucky enough to be staying with a lovely, hospitable family and today I shared their family Easter with nine people round the table for two meals. I can't, as I can in English, keep track of two conversations at a time, but I can at least be involved in one, despite distractions.

After our concert this evening I'll have a week without native English speakers around. I am determined to end the week speaking better than ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.