TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Grallina cyanoleuca

Commonly known as the magpie lark, this medium sized bird is native to Australia and has adapted well to the presence of humans. They are aggressively territorial and will defend their their territory against much larger birds. They generally mate for life. Pairs are known to sing in duet, the reasons for which are still being debated.
This lovely specimen was sitting on the rail of a bridge at the lake.  In fact I captured three birds during this round of the lake for Easter Saturday (see extras). There is a white faced heron and a seagull looking me straight in the eye. Every walk seems to deliver something different and increases my curiosity. Blipping is really good for the soul. This is a back Blip for yesterday. So much going on with family I didn't get to put this up last night.


Note:  Thanks to frezabird for correcting me on the naming of this bird. I had wrongly called it a pied butcherbird. So much to learn!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.