Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Spot the Crowd

Rugby is supposedly the national game of Wales.  It may have been but I think that’s going now, grassroots rugby is dying and the custodians of the game, the Welsh Rugby Union (WRU) are oblivious as to what’s happen.  My feeling is that within 10 years the only rugby being played will be that of the failed regional level. 

Take today as an example, Neath were playing Bargoed in the bottom 8 split of the Welsh Premiership, Neath are part of the Ospreys region.  So the WRU decide to hold Judgement Day with all 4 Welsh regions playing each other in Cardiff on the same day as a full fixture list.  The Ospreys match was kicking off around the same time as the Neath game.  Spot the crowd in this blip?

This was the first game I’ve been to this year, as just after Christmas the WRU split the Welsh Premiership into 2, with the top 8 playing each other, and the bottom 8 playing each other.  I had no idea of the fixtures to the end of the season, you get out of the habit of going.  And to top it all there will be a trophy handed to the winner of the bottom 8!  So you can claim you were the Best of the Worst!  Laughable!  Rewarding failure!

Neath came to today’s match on the back of a thrashing they dished out to Cross Keys, and they started today’s match with the same intentions.  At one point in the first half we were 26-7 up, but right at the end of the first half Bargoed scored a pushover scrum and never looked back.  They eventually won 36-29 and were deserved winners.  We should never have allowed a team back into a game from 26-7 up but we did, and the frailties I’ve seen for the past few seasons remain.

I’ve been criticised for not being positive and supporting our team, and I’m sure I’ll be criticised for this blip if people read it, but do you know what?  I live in reality and it’s about time people woke up to what’s happening in Welsh rugby before it’s too late!

In other news I’ve discovered another high priority project for work to add to my large to do list.  I’ve got so much on, I don’t know where to start.  So I decided to go to a bookshop and buy a few books.  Don’t judge me!  LOL!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.