Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

When I must leave

A sad day as we said goodbye to my Auntie Marion.  It’s been a day full of emotion, happiness and sadness.  I was proud and honoured to be a pallbearer, but also nervous as it’s such a great responsibility.  Marion was the centrepiece to our family, pulling all the different strands of the family together despite our seemingly business lives, I fear that has all changed for good now.  I take solace in this poem by Helen Steiner Rice.

When I go I’d like my funeral to be a celebration, I’d like people to wear colour not black.  I feel black dictates that the mood is sombre, and yes whilst it is a sad situation I’d like to remember the happy memories, the ones that put a smile on our face or make us laugh out loud.

Off out with friends tonight for a curry before a long distance walk tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.