Easter Sunday - 1961

Dear Diary,

Here we all are, ready for church on that Easter Sunday so long ago.  It was a very special day for me because it was the first time I got to wear a pair of nylon stockings!  A rite of passage for a young girl in the 1960's.  I was also allowed to wear just a hint of lipstick, didn't I feel grown up!  My hat, and we always wore hats and white gloves back then, was very like my mothers.  We bought them at a little hat shop in town.  Can you believe there was actually a shop that only sold ladies hats?

My brother was decked out in his Easter finery and my baby sister too although she isn't wearing her hat yet.  I'm not wearing my "bunny wrap" either.  I adored the soft white jacket I had gotten for the day.  In those days children got new outfits for Easter Sunday.  I'm not sure that is so much of a tradition now.

I've added a photograph of our church, The First Federated Church of Hudson, Massachusetts.  I have such wonderful memories of that beautiful church.  Just four years later, 1965, the church burned and had to be torn down.  It was a devastating event but the town rallied around us all and in just 2 years a new church was built but for me the modern building just didn't have the same feeling as this old one which was built in 1871.

A Happy Easter to you all and a joyous spring (or a restful autumn to my friends down under!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.