Still playing...

...with the metal decorator's wallpaper stripper tool for applying paint and doing effects of tree bark.

Acrylics.
Metal wallpaper stripper tool.
Brush to apply first coat of white, and then while still wet, and then applying a red, a purple, and a black with metal wallpaper stripper. And finally using that metal tool to create the tree bark type effects.

Popeye was mithering me all day to get out of the house and go into the potting shed. Finally the sun came out for all of 2 seconds so we went out there, but fled when two hornets emerged from somewhere.

There was a hornet in the bungalow yesterday, and one in the garage a couple of days ago. At the end of autumn or around then, there was a swarm of hornets when I was in the back garden with Popeye sitting on my lap. They had hung around for ages and appeared angry, and I held on to Popeye and we had both sat still. I was hoping they had gone elsewhere. Now I don't know the habits of hornets, but it is looking like at least some hung around over winter.

The hornet in the garage and the one in the bungalow were both sleepy and it was easy to catch them in a jam jar and release them outside. The potting shed can stay open until I think those two have gone.


This is my painting for today for my challenge to myself of a painting a day every day in 2017.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.