Blue Sky Rainbow

My blip was in the bag within minutes of waking up this morning, not just because this view from my balcony was rather impressive, but because I've had virtually no chance to take any other pictures today. This is the first time I've tried stitching images together to create a panorama. The technology is amazing really and I certainly can't work out where the join is!

The rainbow is incredibly seductive. It's almost impossible to ignore when one appears, and it's a sight I always want to share with other people. I remember staying at a hostel in New Zealand once and saw this incredibly bright rainbow form against a dark, dark sky. I found myself shouting for everyone to come see. I couldn't help myself. And I will never forget the feeling of bringing together so many people, from all over the world, to share in the childish excitement of such a simple thing. It created a shared sense of awe.

Perhaps the magic is to do with the fact that there is no rainbow actually out there in the world, that each rainbow is a unique creation of our own mind. And perhaps that touches on some deep and instinctive metaphor about the very nature of our reality. I've not met anyone who is immune to the spiritual resonances that each rainbow seems to create along with those colours of the spectrum.

I don't often post links to music, but as part of my journal I like the idea of making a connection to the tracks that are currently in my head. I've just discovered the Smoke Fairies and this one song, Version of the Future, I just adore. It's completely hooked me! The band are fronted, quite unusually, by two women, geographically from Sussex but musically from America. They create an amazing sound. Worth an investigation.

Finally, thanks for the great reception to yesterday's blip. I'm still struggling to keep up with you but I'm really grateful for the hearts. They do mean so much to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.