Ethereal Wispiness

I have so many things on my "to do" list right now but I've blown them all away. After the morning cloud burned off today has seen the best summer weather up here since the end of March. I've been outside pretty much all day, starting with a run on the moor this morning, slightly longer than intended because I was feeling so good - to the extent that I had to take a route directly back to the cricket club so I could watch the start of the 2nd XI game down at Ben Rhydding.

Both sons playing for the seconds today which makes logistics a lot easier. Forrest opened and scored 45, the first time he's failed to get fifty in six innings for this team. He never really looked in touch today, so all credit to him that he could still get a score even while not playing at his best. He also admitted that he needs to get fitter. It was again tiredness that did for him more than anything else. We are going to have a winter of quality training! I'm going to remind you of this day young man!!

After Forrest was dismissed I jogged back so I could get a drink and grab a quick bite to eat before returning on the bike to get a short ride in (when I took this) and then spent the rest of the afternoon in the sun, under the most beautiful wispy cirrus clouds, watching the guys cruise to a comprehensive victory. I was only home for a short while before the sunset beckoned and I was out on the moor again. It had to be done. After this weekend it might be a long wait before another such day.

So, lots of photographs taken, but went for this one in the end. I've shot these birch trees several times before but never been quite happy with the sky, until today. The high cirrus provided the perfect backdrop. Wispy trees against a wispy sky. I doubt I'll ever get a better shot from here, although this one from a few yards to the right wasn't bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.