Mono Monday . . . ABOVE

Billowing above
Steam cloud versus cumulus
Unconcerned cyclists

This is the steam cloud that billows out from Nelson Pine Industries.  I can see it from my house and it is a good indicator of the winds strength and direction.  We do get days when it is going straight up.  The plant manufactures medium density fibreboard (MDF) from pine logs.  It exports to Japan, China and North America.  The white plume from the driers is saturated air.  It is produced as the moisture content of the fibre is reduced during  the MDF process.
Many of my walks are determined by what blip I'm looking for. Conveniently for me the cycle way passes below the plant on the route to Rabbit Island and Mapua.  I could walk along until I was right opposite the plant.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.