Once I was a tree

Once upon a time I was a Yew tree. I grew from a tiny seed and for hundreds of years I stood with pride and dignity on this wild hillside overlooking Morecambe Bay.

But over many of your human lifetimes the Atlantic storms took their toll and now I grow no more. But my offspring surround me still.

Some may find my remains have beauty of form and colour and they would stand me in a corner of their studio as a conversation piece with their dinner party guests.

But I am happier here for those who look closely will find that I provide a home for many beetles and other forms of innocent life.

And through the magic of photography here is an extra showing Knottman himself preparing to record my beauty and show it to his friends around the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.