Astbury Hall and a Rock Legend

Continuing my F-in-L's (Ray) 80th bithday celebration.

After breakfast, we drove to Astbury Hall Golf Club where we met some of Ray's pals so he could enjoy a game of golf. It did remind me of being at work a little - being with a group of Octogenarians!

Astbury Hall is owned by K K Downing, founder member of Judas Priest. Gary (b-in-l)  used to play in a heavy metal band and KKD is someone he much admired. KK's 2nd passion is Golf - hence the Golf Club.

Anyway, we met Mr Downing and what a lovely, unassuming chap he is. He had plenty of time for Gary and all his questions. I told him that I would have to "google" him when I got home (as Judas Priest passed under my radar). KK rolled his eyes in surprise and later told me exactly what to look up on Youtube!

Just to add to the excitement, my other b-in-law, went into a diabetic coma during the night. He had been testing his blood during the evening and then miscalculated the insulin. Luckily his wife heard him collapse and was minutes away from dialling 999 when she managed to revive him. The last time it happened was 1987!

Wonderful weekend and still not touched any Easter eggs! 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.