".... Somebody Bet On The Bay"

I spent the afternoon at the Huntingdon races with my son-in-law, daughter and grandson. I've never been to watch horses racing before and loved it. It was wonderful to see and hear the beautiful animals thundering down the track and vaulting the fences. I got so much pleasure from seeing our men enjoying choosing and placing their bets. They took it quite seriously, read up on the form and both went home with more money than they started with. My parents were strongly against gambling so it was a bit of a guilty pleasure for me. 

We made an S2000 mini-meet of it and my grandson came in my car. It was nice spending time with him. I really liked it that he nodded off to sleep on the way home just like he used to when he was a little boy. He didn't seem to mind that I sang The Camptown Races to him. :) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VXE_PfcXtYE

Today's poem is Peace by Henry Vaughan. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/45429

The poet is talking to his soul telling it that, though earth changes, heaven doesn't, like a flower that never dies. The poem made me think of this from Abide With Me. "Change and decay in all around I see;
O Thou who changest not, abide with me." 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.