Berneray

The weather forecast was for sun sun sun today, so we headed north to explore the island of Berneray, to the north of the Uists. I think the beach here was the nicest I’ve seen on this trip - a white expanse of sand gently lapped by waves from a turquoise sea, along the whole of the northern and western shores of the island, and backed by tall dunes. The view out to sea was towards the even smaller island of Borerey and then to the dark dramatic hills of Harris. We saw very few people on our 10 mile (yes, you read that right) walk, but 6 dead gannets spaced out along  the strand, and to Ellie’s delight, a (live) short-eared owl behind the dunes.

My blip is not from Berneray but from an old house we passed near the tip of North Uist. It had an orange rusting tin roof and a For Sale sign outside the door. D and got out to take photos and when he had gone back to the car, I found an open window at the back of the house and climbed in. I thought I’d better record what I saw inside before the house is bought and stripped and turned into a holiday home…


The extras show the beautiful long beach on Berneray.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.