Hello Procrastination....my old friend!

procrastination is such a strong and familiar feeling for me....and i'm sure most artists!    So many of the artists i look at and listen to on line talk about this crippling element.....and it is such a devious fellow!!!

I often tack up some of my paintings on the wall in front of me.....some because i really like and others because they still really bother me!   The painting here is a good example!   It felt so unfinished and flat .... for the past few days i've felt very bored and somewhat blah....that feeling is a bit overwhelming....it's tiring and seems to wash over me (not too often thank god) and all i want to do is nap and veg out in front of the computer.  

This morning i tried to kick start my mojo....often that involves just looking at art that excites me.   I found this artist a couple of months ago and was totally captivated with his work.   So this morning i checked into his blog and just tried to analysis and understand what it is about this work that makes it so powerful and stunning!   Then i took that piece of mine off the wall and back onto the easel!  Now i'm not trying to make art like Rick Stevens......that's impossible.....but i'm trying to find out how to give my own work more excitement and something that while working on it, gives me joy!   I'm not sure if this is where this one will end.....only time will tell!

Now i'm off to start the wood stove in the mudroom and deal with the pots i made a few days ago!  

Feeling a lot less inert now that i've spent only about an hour letting my creative juices flow...but that was all i needed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.