RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Construction Techniques

I happened upon an ideal photo opportunity on my ride back from town this morning. This condo development has been under construction for over a year, bunches of workers swarming the structure doing all sorts of different techniques. The pile of block in the lower left of the photo was being moved to the upper level for yet another floor. Instead of using a forklift as would be done in the United States, the workers simply started tossing block one by one to the guy above, who threw it to the next in line above until the block as at the top (where I inadvertently cut out the final guy due to sun on the monitor) and the process started over once again. Of course, once I stopped to take a photograph, the workers took a break - so no block in mid-flight. Impatient me didn't wait until they started up again, nor did I move into a better position, but the memory is still there and this photo of workers in repose will always remind me of this ancient technique.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.