RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Faded Beauty

I was reading the other day that inexpensive point and shoot cameras can actually take closer macro photos than much more expensive DSLRs (at least DSLRs without a macro lens or extension tubes). Having both, I decided to test this for myself. As Mythbusters would say, this is confirmed. My $300 underwater Canon D30 far outperformed my $2,000 Canon 6D with 24-105mm lens, at least when it came to filling the frame with flowers in our complex. True, with the 6D I can crop the resulting file to simulate ridiculous closeness (which I have done on occasion in the past), but my little D30 gets in close with a healthy depth of field as well. Until I can afford that macro lens, it may just have to suffice for shots like this close up of a decaying petal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.