Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Housekeeping

A little while ago I decided that I need to back my photos up online. I looked at a few options and thought I would give Amazon Prime a try; for just over £70 they give unlimited photo storage, free next day delivery on anything you order from them, plus access to Amazon TV with shows and films. I signed up for the free trial and started to upload but after only a few days I realised I had made a mistake. There may be an easy way to organise them once uploaded but I couldn't find it, and the interface was really not user-friendly. In addition, I don't really need the free one day delivery and there was very little I wanted to watch on their TV, so I'll be cancelling at the end of the free time.

Instead, I've gone for Google. There is unlimited free storage (it may reduce file sizes which wouldn't work for everyone but is fine for me), the interface is good and it's much easier to organise the pictures once uploaded. I started uploading yesterday afternoon and other than the PC deciding to switch itself off four hours after we went to bed last night it's been uploading ever since. At this rate I reckon it will take about a week to upload them all.

Organising them afterwards looks like it may become my life's work!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.