Living on the edge (Day 713)

Another reasonably pleasant wander up the hill with the dogs this morning, with some hazy cloud and mist in the distance. I had been set to head to town to do a job, but the customer called to re-arrange, leaving me at a bit of a loose end.
Whilst I waited for my beautiful wife to return from her overnight shift, I set about a bit of a spring clean in the kitchen. After lunch with HV, we headed to Stromness, collected Evie the Wonderdog, and made for Warebeth. I could see seals in the distance at Breckness and managed to get reasonably close for a few shots. (Years ago I read an article in a photographic magazine which suggested seals are quite difficult to photograph. It also suggested that to get close enough, it was best to sneak up on them by wriggling along the beach in a bin bag. No such measures were necessary and I walked across the rocks to get about 50 yards from a load of seals hauled out on the rocks). The extra is a shot of a fulmar which was circling above us, posted just because I quite like it.
Back at the ranch, and after feeding the woofers HV and I had a run out on the bikes. A new route of about 12 miles, which was a lot less taxing than my ride yesterday.
It has been a grand day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.