Bushy Park

A catch up day after the holidays, admin, emails etc
Visited Mum in the morning, she was asleep when I got there, I marshalled the home into action to replace 2 out of 3 bulbs in her room and put her clock back up which had fallen down and to order lamp shades. Mum was really pleased and said it never would have happened without me.
I opened some chocolate buttons for her which she enjoyed.
Her speech was better today than the other day but she was asking about her old tv and typewriter, I told her again that Gerry's house has been sold and that I have anything of value at my house, mainly photos, ornaments, books... most of it had to go to the dump or charity sadly but it was of no use to her or us and I don't have room to store it. I asked her if she was concerned about any of her other things and she said she couldn't remember. I'm slowly going through her things that are here, it's a big job and upsettting too.
I bought her a new pair of slippers so the others could be washed, I brought them home to do myself on a hand wash cycle.
She had a sticky eye and a nasty rash on the other side of her face and yesterday they called me to say that her elbow was bleeding as she had bashed it. I noticed it was very hard for her to get her drink to her lips today, I helped her in the end, she couldn't lift the cup up far enough to get the straw in her mouth.
I met Norman and his daughter Elisa on the way out, Norman was saying how mum has deteriorated but how I mustn't worry because she has the holy spirit, he is a staunch Quaker and at 94 with no legs and no hearing is a shining example of stoicism and positivity, he also said that the end was coming to us all and it was okay to grieve. I was able to talk to Elisa openly and say that I'm already grieving, the person I knew is hardly here any more, I'm sure I will be very upset when she finally dies but I will also be tremendously relieved for her and for the rest of the family.
I called my brother on the way home as I walked through the park. It's a strain on us both, she'll have been in th home 2 years in August. Of course there was a lot to help with prior to that as well with helping to clear and sell her house etc, what can you do?
It's not just the demand on my time but also my emotions.

I was very tired after last night, and enjoyed a relaxing night on the sofa with Max.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.