Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Sieta and Menno

A couple of months ago, I was asked by Menno* and Sieta to be the photographer for their wedding. Having specialized somewhat in landscape photography, my initial thought was that I really shouldn't be doing wedding photography. Especially not when it comes to friends, whose wedding I definitely would not want to ruin with horrible pictures. Still, it would be a great chance to move into new territory, so I decided to give it some thought before responding...

After a couple of days, I had made up my mind: I was going for it! As the day came nearer, I became quite nervous. Of course I prepared as if my life depended on it: I read all sorts of advice on the internet, bought a flash unit, asked friends who had already done wedding shoots. Still, I was probably even more nervous than Sieta and Menno.

Once I started shooting, I became more relaxed and after an hour and a half, I had taken over 260 pictures. Some of them can go straight to the bin, but most of them are quite good I think. It was a great experience. Very intense and I will admit I don't have a clue what was all said during the ceremony, but hey I had a job to do.

Sieta and Menno, huge congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for giving me this opportunity. Ton, thank you for lending me the 24-105 lens; I could not have done this without.


* As you can see, Menno stopped blipping some time ago...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.