Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Big walk!

A half hearted session at the gym this morning, though while JR was having a proper session, I sat out in the sun listening to my new audiobook (Burial Rites by Hannah Kent) with Archie plonked on my knee, as usual. This came to an abrupt end when a cat sauntered along the footpath and stepped through our gate, unaware that the resident dog was watching. What a racket! He barked and barked and barked. But if the cat had held its ground, he would have slunk off, no worries.

It was such a lovely day, we took a notion to pop to Dalkeith Country Park, and set off on the short woodland Yellow Route, which we've done before. My knees felt strong, and I was walking well. As we came back round, I suggested we go a wee bit further, past the big house, to see the big bridge. We continued on down the path to river level, and what a lovely walk it was.

We walked on and on, enjoying the scenery, though my knees were beginning to complain. We came to the 'Old Wood' which was wonderful - hundreds of huge gnarly oak trees, some of them up to 700 years old! It went on for miles! I began to wonder where the cafe was - surely it must be just round the corner...

We met some people coming the opposite way. I asked them how far it was to the cafe.

'About 15 miles,' I heard. Help ma boab!

But he had actually said 'About 15 minutes.'

I may have looked somewhat distressed and dishevelled, and he could see I was struggling, so he added cheerfully, 'But it doesn't get dark till about 8 o'clock, so you'll be fine.'

About 10 minutes later, we met another group. I asked again. 'About 20 minutes.' OMG! How did that happen? Will this walk ever end?

I was SO happy to eventually see the car park and the wonderful 'Renovation Yard'. A blueberry muffin and cup of tea worked wonders.

Archie had a wonderful time (extras) though he was sick when he was nearly home. JR walked him from there. We're both stretched out on the sofa, shattered, while JR, bless her, tends to our needs.

Steps: 8,635!
6.1km!
Time: 2 hours!

I've excused myself from the gym tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.