My World - So soft....

By driftndream

Blade Runners

I got Paralympics tickets because I felt guilty that I had been to the stadium and Alix hadn't although we did watch the Fencing at ExCel.

When I booked the tickets I didn't realise that it was for THE night, it was just convenient and there were quite a few finals!!

The atmosphere in the stadium was fantastic and the noise just indescribable. It was a wonderful place to be.

We were up in the Gods and on the opposite side of the stadium to the 100m track so it was a case of full zoom and try to keep still (not easy when everyone is going bonkers around you and you're jumping up and down screaming)

Hannah Cockroft took gold in the Women's 200m T34, and the Weirwolf was triumphant in the Men's 800m T54.

It was heart warming to see 80,000 people on their feet clapping, shouting and willing Brazillian Yohannsson Nascimento across the line in the T46 100m after he pulled up and fell but then picked himself up and slowly limped the last 50m. (I'm welling up again thinking about it!)

The roar that went out when Jonnie Peacock appeared was beyond belief and to hear the whole stadium chanting "Peacock, Peacock" must have been daunting for his competitors. He even had to try to quieten everyone himself, not an easy task with a stadium full of adrenaline.

Although this isn't the clearest of pictures I quite like the frenzy just out of the blocks, legs and blades merely a blur as the fastest men on one or no legs commence battle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.