Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Elden's New Look

This is my third blip of Elden. Like many unhoused people, he chooses a neighborhood for his “home” and sets up camp in familiar doorways. His neighborhood is NW 21st Avenue, which is also my One Street since back in 2012 when that project started. 

One of the things that draws us to each other is that Elden is a terrific storyteller and I love a good story told well. Over the years I’ve heard about his sister, his parents, his military service, his failed marriage, his alcoholism and his periods of sobriety, and his meeting with Ursula LeGuin. The last time I blipped him, he had a story about saving up money to buy a boat. This time when we spotted each other, he and another fellow were sitting in a doorway, listening to jazz emanating uncertainly from an electronic tablet. 

As soon as I said hello, he jumped up, shook my hand, and launched into today’s story, which is that he has established himself as a jack-of-all-trades in the construction industry. He says he got a small business loan from the bank so he could buy tools, and he is restoring a credit rating for himself after years of not having one. He says he is enormously successful. “That’s why I got this new look. You like it? I’m sitting here having a few beers with my good friend,” he said, gesturing to his friend on the ground who was rocking unevenly to the music, “because I have a few days off work now, and I feel like I’ve earned the break. And oh yeah, you remember I told you I met Ursula LeGuin? Well I met her again. She remembered me.” 

I don’t question Elden’s stories. I just like the way he tells them. I do think the haircut suits him, looks more hip and up to date. He’s lost some weight and he looks robust and seems genuinely happy. That’s all I need to know. 

First Elden blip.
Second Elden blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.