Grey Wagtail

This morning I went for a walk along the River Ceiriog as it was a beautiful sunny day. There were lots of birds around but the best view and photo was this grey wagtail perched on a fence near the river.

I had a late visitor last night -  a hornet that must have got in through an open window during the day. It was flying around my living room - mostly on the ceiling and I couldn't catch it to put it out. It then went quiet - it must have found a spot to hide in and I planned to put it out in the morning. After a while I got up to go to bed and felt an itch on my leg which I scratched and was rewarded by a sting. The hornet had sneaked up my trouser leg - it was certainly a dark spot up there! I got it in a pot and put it out. It was a beautifully marked creature and under other circumstances would have blipped it. The sting came up into a sore red lump but I slathered it in antihistamine cream and it was much better by morning. I wish I'd photographed the hornet though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.