Leiflife

By Leiflife

Dancing with My Father

Today I will do a reading and signing of Dancing with My Father at WAMA: The Walter Anderson Museum of Art in Ocean Springs, Ms. It will take place between 2 and 4 PM, and it sounds a simple undertaking, but knowing myself as a dancer, I know it must be a performance of sort. And so, the nerves. A churning of the inner workings of the body, hardly comfortable, but intensely familiar.

I use to think of the phenomena as spiritual: a kind of re-arranging of the soul in preparation. Naturally, the body is affected. I still am inclined to think this way. It doesn't relieve the physical discomfort, but it does remind me of the fact that once the dance begins, the soul/the body are in sync; I can relax into the moment and allow the dance. So be it...

For interested blippers, Amazon now carries my book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.