briocarioca

By briocarioca

It's all about the music

I managed to sleep a bit longer this morning, as is only proper on a Saturday, then after breakfast HH and I set off for a walk on the beach. However, it started to rain so we went to a music shop instead to get new strings for his guitar. What a treasure trove! At 9.30 a.m. there were already 8 or 10 people in there, testing electric guitars, buying other accessories or just standing round chatting. I looked into a small corridor that appeared to lead to more treasures and a man in a tiny office asked if he could help. I told him I was just fascinated by the place, so he came out and said that if I wanted to try an instrument, all I had was "plug in and give the audience a treat". When I confessed to not playing any instrument, he moved on to asking my nationality, then said how much he loves London and how often he'd been there, as he used to work for the Brazilian airline, Varig. As I also used to work for an airline, and later did voice-overs for Varig, we had lots to talk about, and he came out to meet HH. Altogether, a most enjoyable interlude - and on the way home we came across the two budding musicians in the extra photo, jigging around in a shopping centre.
 
Later, HH watched football before tackling his income tax, while I carried on with a translation. Much more interesting than my usual work, though, the Wikipedia entry for a leading Brazilian film and TV director. Hope it leads to more of the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.