TommyG

By TommyG

A long way!

We had set aside today for a 60 km training run for Ni... Ni's plans often evolve, so I shouldn't have been too surprised when it became 100km, 5 laps of the Surrey downs climbing a quarter of the way up Everest into the bargain. Our (not so little) heroes and I took it in turns to accompany her starting at 6am and finishing at 10pm. (With a trip to the shops to buy more shoes in the middle!). This is my favourite (not so elegant) photo from the day, which for me was all about making sure someone was ready to meet Ni with liquid, calories, clothing and a few very specific and eclectic requests. (Nicaraguan coffee in the Culin mug; tuna pasta with grated cheese and lots of salt and pepper; two boiled eggs and a can of baked beans; tom yum soup) I was only psyched up for a 20km run. I really struggled to cope with the idea of having to go and do it again.

Grateful for a lovely day with 1:1 time with each member of the family, and managing not to get cross or (too) grumpy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.