The birds get a new house!

Dear Diary,

When I visited the old family farm in Dutchess County, New York, I bought this bird house gourd.  I finally got around to having Greg drill a hole so I could clean out the seeds.  It was certainly well dried!  I love the mottled look to the surface of the gourd; it gives it a kind of camouflaged appearance.

I didn't have a small dowel to use for a perch so I sacrificed an old paint brush which Greg cut down and it was just right.  I do like re-purposing things.

I hung it out in Auntie's tree and immediately a chickadee came by to check it out!  I hope we cut the hole big enough.  As you can see there is still a bit of snow in the back field but two days of warm sunny weather should make short work of that.  Auntie's tree is budding and that is such a wonderful thing to see.

I will hang out the sheep's wool and straw next to the birdhouse in hopes that a bird will try out the house.  It might be a bit late in the season but we'll see.

Today is supposed to be close to 70F this afternoon so Emerson and I will be able to do a bit of porch sitting.  We are both looking forward to that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.