Over the top

Today being dry, it seemed a good day to go somewhere and as our two daughters were with us we visited the Furnace at Bonawe, near Taynuilt on Loch Etive. I had been before, back in the mists of time, but nothing prepared me for this new experience - I thought it was amazing!

Bonawe Iron Furnace was set up in 1753 and lasted only until 1876. When it was built, situated to take advantage of the plentiful supply of timber in Argyll with which to make the charcoal need for smelting, the use of coke was already beginning to take over from charcoal and its fate was sealed almost from the time it began. A sort of canal versus railway scenario, I suppose.

The site and buildings are well-preserved and I would recommend a visit if you find yourself in the area with a spare couple of hours. The towering charcoal sheds and relatively small iron ore sheds show just what the ratio of fuel to ore was. 

My Blip today is of the original oak lintel over one of the doorways and the extras show the furnace building itself and part of the old house for the workers, the latter as yet unrestored. All very impressive!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.