Mono Monday - Stone

My contribution to this week's Mono Monday Challenge - Stone.
A few years ago my then Company Chairman was visiting Gallipoli. My grandfather  had fought there, in the First World War, with the North Staffs Regiment, so I asked my Chairman if he would bring me back a stone from the beach. This is the stone which he very kindly brought back for me. 
Sadly, he died later that year - a lovely person and a true gentleman.
This stone is a nice memento of both Granddad and HIS (my Chairman, who was often known by his initials). 
By a strange coincidence,  the Gallipoli Parade at the Cenotaph, Whitehall took place two years ago tomorrow, on 25th April 2015. I was very proud to be asked to take part, and to wear my Granddad's medals with pride. 
Thanks to Nickimags888 for hosting this month's MM challenges.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.