Happy April

Before Christmas I made two Christmas cakes, one to give as a present, and the other for us to keep. Then my shingles arrived. I managed to ice the gift cake in January when we saw our friends just before we went on holiday, but our cake just had to keep being fed brandy. 
We were away for quite a while, and the cake remained at home, waiting patiently. I thought "I know, I'll ice it ready for Easter". Just before Easter came I developed this horrible cold and cough (which has just about gone now). 
This weekend I decided once and for all to ice it - after all, it keeps guzzling the brandy every couple of weeks. However - what occasion could I give it?
St George's Day or Shakespeare's Birthday were obvious choices - but too long. April it had to be (I almost made it "May" as that's only 3 letters, but that would have meant hanging on another week.)
When I worked in France I told my boss about "Pinch, punch, first day of the month". He wouldn't believe me. (I did used to play a few tricks on him now I come to think about it.) So I told him about "Lapins blancs. Lapins blancs. Lapins blancs. " ( Here you must try to imaging someone saying in an "'Ello, ello" accent "Lyndaaaaa. You theenk ah arm stooopeeed.")
 So I told him that we say "Happy March" or "Happy April" or "Happy May" etc., etc. He was quite happy with that. For the whole time that I worked with him, he used to pride himself on saying to any English visitors at the beginning of the month "Appy July", "Appy October" or whatever. I don't know why, but they always used to look a bit puzzled.  
By the way, I know my letters are more like "Flintstones" than anything vaguely attractive. HOWEVER - I know that it will taste scrumptious. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.