Friday Foto

By drmackem

The Long Mile

As more of a distance road runner, who is playing at fell running recently I decide to play away today and turned up for a track race!
Now I've never done anything like this before, I can't even remember racing on the track at school - so an odd change of direction as a 50 year old.
I turned up at the track in Leeds Carneige along with over a 100 others for seeded heats. I nearly ran back as quickly as I'd arrived, it was a proper track, with a proper clock and big bang gun and a bell to announce your final lap. The bang on gun to start my heat gave me such a shock I found myself in the lead and led them through a too quick first 2 laps. Got caught up by a couple of lads in lap 3 and the final lap was a big dig in. What a lot of fun. Quicker by 23 sec than my unofficial mile run a year ago this weekend, so going in the right direction.

Blip is my mate Chris who urged me to turn up, this is him at the finish in considerable oxygen debt. How Mo can remember to do his mobot with a dozen of the fastest runners in the world behind him is amazing.

PS thanks for all the love yesterday, really appreciated. I looked back at my photo's this morning and put this stitched panorama in colour and interestingly in mono rather liked them both

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.