Blue Tit Break

As we were approaching the garden after our morning walk, Jazzy and I heard a young bird cheeping. I tried to find it so that I could get a pic. Mr Blackbird wasn't amused. He flew from perch to perch chooking and then he flew past me and landed quite a way from where the young bird was hiding. He definitely diverted my attention from my search for his offspring by doing a full and lengthy 'bow and run' threat display. He even carried on up the side of the Nissen hut. I've never been threatened by a blackbird before. :)

While this was happening I heard more cheeping. It was my blue tit pair. I snatched a shot of him feeding her (extras) and captured her hunting for insects in a wild rose bush. I think that dark area on her breast is her brood patch, the skin of which heats up when her clutch of eggs is complete. Blue tits sit for thirty minutes and then have a break of ten minutes for a snack.

I'll try to capture the baby blackbird tomorrow. I was pleased to see and photograph a silly, vociferous, young thrush on our walk. 

Today's poem is from Litany to the Holy Spirit by Robert Herrick. http://www.bartleby.com/101/275.html

This doesn't do much for me but I like the sound of Herrick the man. He was very genial and had lots of pets. He never married but wrote some wonderful and sensual verses with the message that life is short, the world is beautiful, love is splendid, and we must use the short time we have to make the most of it.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.