The Quirang with a dust of snow

Today we set off for the Quirang and Uig in the full knowledge there might be some wintry showers. On the way there a mild snow shower which obscured the Old Man of Storr so we gave up any idea of attempt the climb up there. By the time we arrived at the Quirang there was a light dusting of snow around and this was when I took this blip. However, it quickly brightened up and there was some nice sunshine around when we arrived in Uig so we grabbed a coffee and headed up to the Fairy Glen where we enjoyed really good weather. So we thought we would head back via the Quirang as the views might be better. However, it was sleeting a bit when we got there. Like a fool I decided we could probably walk up as far as the saddle just next to the Needle maybe a mile or so's walk. I'd ditched my full camera gear and was just taking my travel camera. I was ever hopeful after the morning's experience that the wintry showers would pass over and there would be another burst of sunshine.

However, reality quickly bit in as soon as we turned round to return to the car park and we found ourselves facing a real blizzard blowing straight into our faces. What made it more difficult was the fact that I had omitted to bring gloves and I had to return them to my pockets every so often to warm them up when I really needed them out to maintain my balance on a slippy pathway. In fact it snowed so hard that by the time we were approaching the car par park the pathway had completely disappeared under the snow. Of course, the problems did not stop there as we then had to descend from the Quirang in the car on snow covered winding and steep roads which gave very little traction so we were very pleased to arrive safely at the main road. Not exactly the challenge I had been expecting on the first day of our holiday !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.