Morris Hill

For the last few days I've been eyeing up these two cherry trees as I drive down to the town. Today was the day - with the bonus of a blue sky and fluffy white clouds! 

The road ahead is technically Rockfield Road, but is sometimes known as Morris Hill, which is the name of the house on the left. On the right is Ardconnel Road and on the far left, a private road which was once to be the main entrance for The Oban Hydropathic Establishment and Sanatorium, the Sunday name for 'the hydro'. Beyond the white van, the track continues as a muddy path which takes you to the ruins of the above establishment. Behind me is Longsdale Road.

While I was taking this photograph I noticed my friend Ishbel sitting in her porch in the sun, so I stopped for what turned into a long and interesting conversation. She's an Obanite born and bred and was telling me stories of Oban High School, where she was a pupil sixty years ago. She told me that she was tuning her fiddle this morning ready for a performance at an old peoples' home this afternoon! She's a lovely lady and I'm sure she won't mind being shown to the world in my extra picture today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.