Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Lunch treat

For some reason, I had had a good go in the gym this morning. I even kept going for five minutes on the cross trainer. And I had a go at another scary looking new machine, where you have to lean forward and really stretch your legs out behind you (one at a time - otherwise you'd fall over!)

Jenna came for Archie - she's nearly finished her final essay to be handed in on Thursday, so it's great she and Annemique still make time to take Archie out. Although it wasn't as windy as yesterday, it's so cold, so her intended hike up Arthur's Seat was sensibly changed to the sheltered Hermitage.

We popped into town to look at comfy shoes. I am loathe to buy any, because although they will be comfy in the shop, I can almost guarantee that at some point later on they will be unwearable. It's not the shoes - it's my feet - I can get cramp in the comfiest of shoes. So I abandoned the search fairly soon after I started it. JR, however, is a seasoned shopper, and continued the search after lunch. And came home victorious.

We popped into a handy well known cake shop for some sustenance, intending to resist the cakes. But when we studied the menu, we discovered they had much more than cakes - a varied breakfast and lunch menu, as well a very substantial afternoon teas. We shared a toasted ciabatta sandwich which was absolutely stuffed full goodies - mozzarella, avocado, pesto, fresh basil, tomatoes. And two tubs of chips and two salads. They charged us for one! And best of all, they don't play any muzak! We'll be back.

I came home via Princes Street Gardens. I wanted a shot of the blossom, but the flower beds looked gorgeous. Princes Street really is the most lovely shopping Street, with shops on one side and the Gardens on the other. Took loads of photos, so had to add in extras.

Jenna brought Archie home this afternoon, but she won't be back for a while. The wee soul is having an operation on her knee and will be on crutches for weeks. Perhaps we'll go and visit her instead, eh, Archie?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.