SkiMe

By SkiMe

MonoMonday Challenge - 170 Stone

As in, "I hope this plane doesn't fall out of the sky like a stone!"

Back Blip to yesterday and trying to pick up the pieces today.

I have volunteered to host MonoMonday for the month of May. I am looking forward to the opportunity and experience.  I have decided that for my month as host I will concentrate on a few photographers that have been inspirational to me. Although my main photography style is centered more around street photography, I want to give themes that are generally universal and I hope to concentrate on a photographer’s approach and relationship with the camera.

For Monday May 1st,, #MM171, the theme will be F8 and be there which is a quote attributed to Arthur “WeeGee” Fellig. I came to learn this mantra during my first street photography workshop some years ago. The basic idea is that with a minimum aperture set to F8 you can easily take photos with the majority of the frame consistently in focus using a hyperfocal distance. When walking on the street, you need to be quick to capture a moment when it presents itself. No need to fiddle with the focus or other settings. See something and snap!  F8 and be there! (in the moment)

If the whole F8 and be there thing is not your cup of tea, then I offer an alternative theme Serendipity.  I think it is in tune with F8 and be there, but without the constraints of the camera setup.

So… whether you are in the city or on the farm or walking the woods or wherever you find yourself on Monday, the idea I am looking for you to demonstrate in your photo is a moment of spontaneity that would have been lost if you had not been there and ready. Hopefully, you can convey an action or a sentiment that is neither posed or contrived. F8 and be there!

I have posted more background and a better description in the BlipFoto Community Challenges section which you can find here.
  
Thanks to Nickimags888 for hosting this month's MonoMonday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.