WHO AM I ?

With my guidebook in my hand I kept looking. Could it be a fly? a wasp? a bee perhaps?
The big eyes decided it at last for me. Proudly I can announce that I am a Syrphus ribesi. Unless....It has happened before of course. The drawings in my book are great but sometimes show only an overall sight.
A sunny start of the morning, but outside in the garden it was still too cold.
After lunch we drove to Herstelle for our walk. We did not walk the steep path but one that climbs slowly till one reaches the Burg Herstelle and after passing along the abbey one enters the big fields on the plain.
A pleasant walk, and we sat on a bench that gave a view over the Weser valley. The yellow (rape seed flowers) fields at the other side of the river invited us for a walk too. And there we will go tomorrow. A preview I can give in my extra photo.
Dandelions and cuckoo flowers everywhere.
We did not find the path down the hill, but saw two or three deer in the depth. And so we walked without a path, till we reached the flat path that goes from Karlshafen to Herstelle.
I think my photo shows a wild fly, for the Wild Wednesday challenge.
Thanking Cailleach for hosting it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.