Yesterday I had...

...hobbit in my bungalow muttering to himself...

Let me start at the beginning. I was waiting for the gas service man in the front garden in the sunshine with Popeye (cat) on my lap. My mobile flashed an incoming text to say the gas man was in his car the other side of the wall. I have all security in place, and they even have to give me a password. So I am being safety conscious.

You might ask then, how did a hobbit end up in my bungalow...

The gas service man was over six foot tall and your regular gas service man type (if there is one). But he was a gas man to service my central heating and boiler. He was in and out to his van so obviously kitchen door was open.

Then the gas man came to me and said there was a commotion at the kitchen door. So I go out there. And there...is a hobbit..who is muttering unintelligibly. I hadn't a clue what the hobbit was saying, so I back to the gas service man and request his help to translate.

Gas service man attempts to communicate with the hobbit but he is equally mystified to the language the hobbit is talking. But gas service man says to me in front of the hobbit 'I think he's Scottish...' whereupon the hobbit bursts forth with angry words and waves a piece of paper in front of me.

I take the paper from the hobbit and read it. It appears he is from my energy supplier and he has been contracted to check all gas and electric appliances of their customers. Apparently. I tell the hobbit I don't want him and please will he go away. A stream of more unintelligible words emerges from the hobbit.
I explain again I don't want him. He won't go.

My gas service man takes the paper the hobbit is waving again, looks at it and then says to me it looks genuine and that he is from my energy supplier. But we still can't get rid of the hobbit.

Gas service man says to me let him in I am here, and then he might leave...and my brain is trying to compute this...two strange men I don't know in my house, and one a mad wee little Scottish hobbit, but before I can say no again the hobbit has pushed past both of us.

So we follow him in, and he has got to the boiler cupboard and is muttering and scratching his head because my gas service man already had the boiler cover off and was working on it. A torrent of unintelligible streams forth from the hobbit. My gas service man understands a bit of it and says to the hobbit, 'Look mate, there is nothing for you to do here because I have already started the job.'

The hobbit looked visibly upset. And he wanders from room to room scratching his head muttering. He appears to be looking for something. My gas man explains there is nothing he (hobbit) can do because I only have gas central heating.

Finally, nearly half an hour later the hobbit leaves. He is still upset he couldn't do his 'job' that was on the piece of paper he waved at me and my gas service man.

I lock the kitchen door behind the hobbit as he leaves, and return to my gas service man who is in complete hysterics laughing his head off.

Finally he can talk, and explains the hobbit had such a broad Glaswegian accent that not even a hearing person would have been able to understand him. He could make out very little, but understood that my energy supplier was sending the hobbit out to do safety checks on electrical and gas appliances. And it seemed the hobbit was having a very frustrating morning because no one had been expecting him and no-one could understand him.

So this pic above is of the wee little deranged Glaswegian hobbit who was in my house yesterday, and that is my entry for my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017.

I shall enter this for Cailleach's wild Wednesday...

By the way a letter arrived from my energy supplier this morning explaining they were giving all their suppliers free appliance checks and I would be called on sometime yesterday morning...

I have a notice on the front window saying No Hawkers, No Traders, right down to No Religious Groups...I will add a new one tomorrow...No Hobbits....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.