Although...

By Morbeam

Today was by far my favourite day of the honeymoon.

We had a bit of a lie in then headed to Aira Force. We made the most of the footpath down to Ullswater lakeshore to get a few photographs. Sadly my Lumix died! In the mad rush of the wedding I forgot to pick up my charger. My G1 was in use throughout the wedding and 5 days of honeymoon snapping - I think the battery life did well considering! So then we travelled back up the Kirkstone pass to get to Great Langdale. On the way to Ullswater the pass was lovely and sunny but within the space of an hour or so the cloud had dipped again and it was very moody up there! We had lunch at the National Trust Sticklebarn pub to celebrate our one week anniversary. We travelled back towards our apartment but stopped in at Wray Castle. I've never known a National Trust property like this before - a shell of a grand building with odd additions from it's various uses through the years, the most obvious being a youth hostel. The footpaths currently being constructed along Windermere's shore are lovely, we soaked up the last of the rare thing which is Cumbrian sunshine before packing up ready for our journey back home again tomorrow.

Honeymoon magic has to come to an end and normality has to begin again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.