My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

Bladerunner

The new Mr & Mrs originally had tickets for the last session of the Paralympics at the Olympic Stadium. For some reason they offered them to Laura and me, seems they had something better to do the day after getting married.

It was a great atmosphere with some cracking races and events. The Javelin throwers are very bendy in those frames they have to use and there were about a dozen world records set. Including by this fella.

Normally I tend to try not going with the obvious image but Oscar Pistorius is the undoubted star of the Paralympics on the track and this is probably the steadiest I held the camera all evening. I love the fact he's off the ground and there's the shadow from the floodlights beneath him. He absolutely tore the field apart, winning by nearly 4 seconds and taking more than that off the world record. Brilliant end to a brilliant evening.

I am starting to consider myself an honary Mexican having see the football at the start of this whole London 2012 thing, the team that went on to win gold. Then the first 2 gold medals presented tonight were both to Mexicans too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.