Freedom of the Hills

Freedom of the Hills
By: Douglas Fraser – 1968
Mine is the freedom of the tranquil hills
When vagrant breezes bend the sinewy grass,
While sunshine on the widespread landscape spills
And light as down the fleet cloud-shadowed pass.*






A day of hard slog in the garden while the weather is holding - dire forecast for the weekend which seems to be another Bank Holiday! Today I was clearing the comfrey bed which sorts out our septic tank and hacking back the edges of the boreen whilst Himself did some strimming. I missed this beautiful visitor though - do take a look at Reynardine who swung by cheekily this afternoon and seems to like bird food!
It's abstract thursday and the theme is landscape, thanks Ingeborg. I nipped down to the lake and did a bit of technical camera swinging. The colours are livening up.

I was amazed to see the turkey, who I last saw suspiciously near Christmas, is still there and now huge and shaking his tail feathers! What very odd creatures they are! There were also four alpacas watching me with interest,

* Apparently it's Poetry Day Ireland so I've just added a verse which seems fitting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.