SweetArt

By SweetArt

Life is like a butterfly ...

This is the cake I made for my friend's 40th. She's not a very girly girl ... and she's an entomologist, so I thought I'd make a cake in her favourite colours. While I was sitting in a doctor's office, I was going through a Homes & Garden magazine and found this pattern on a wall paper swatch, so thought I'd try using that design in her cake. And this is how it turned out! By the time we got to the venue, the butterflies wings were drooping (because of the humidity here) and so the four candles are placed like that because they're supporting the butterfly's wings. It's red velvet underneath the fondant and it was very yummy, if I do say so myself ;-) I piped all sorts of bugs around the cake, hope she noticed them all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.